Ever wonder, is marijuana legal in North Carolina? Here’s everything you need to know about North Carolina’s marijuana laws and other places to find cannabis around North Carolina this 2020.
Is weed legal in North Carolina?
In short, no. Marijuana is not legal in North Carolina.
Marijuana is a Schedule VI substance under the North Carolina Controlled Substances Act. Schedule VI drugs have been determined to not fit into the ordinary I-V scheduling. This means that North Carolina deems marijuana unsafe under direct medical supervision and risky to public health. It also states that cannabis has no acceptable medical uses and has a high likelihood of physical and psychological dependence.
Recreational cannabis is still highly illegal in North Carolina. Per North Carolina marijuana laws, there are many severe penalties associated with buying, selling, using, or cultivating cannabis in the state, so be sure to avoid buying, selling, or using it there. Here’s a quick breakdown of the penalties before we jump into North Carolina’s medical marijuana program.
- Less than 1.5 oz: misdemeanor. Up to 45 days in jail. Up to $1000 in fines
- More than 1.5oz: felony. Up to 8 months in jail. Up to $1000 in fines
Possession with intent to distribute:
- More than 10 lbs less than 50 lbs: Felony. Up to 5 years in jail. $5000 fine
Sale or delivery:
- 10 lbs or less: Felony. 4 – 8 months in jail. $1,000 fine
- More than 10 – less than 50 lbs: Felony. Up to 5 years in jail. $5,000 fine
- To a minor or pregnant woman: Felony. 3 – 8 years in jail.
- Within 1000 feet of a school, child care center, or park: Felony. Up to 3 years in jail.
- Less than 10 lbs: Felony. 3 – 8 months in jail. $1,000 fine
- 10 – 50 lbs: Felony. Minimum of 2 years in jail. $5,000 fine
- Vehicles and other property may be seized.
- If convicted of a felony offense and given probation results in driver’s license forfeiture.
- Anything involving a minor is an automatic felony. 8 months to 7 years in jail.
- If you get caught with weed in jail it’s an automatic felony and 4-8 months in jail.
Medical Marijuana in North Carolina
While in North Carolina, recreational marijuana is out of the question, you may qualify for the state’s medical marijuana program. Like many other compassionate care laws, North Carolina has the Epilepsy Alternative Treatment act. In North Carolina, marijuana is only available to people with treatment-resistant epilepsy. That means you won’t find a North Carolina weed dispensary offering marijuana for recreational use, nor is it delivered.
In 2014, House Bill 1220 (HB 1220) was passed and then amended in July 2015. It allows people to use cannabis to treat epilepsy if it’s recommended by a neurologist. To receive legal protection from the harsh penalties associated with possessing and using marijuana, you must be diagnosed with epilepsy by a state-approved neurologist who has tried to help you with three or more treatment options that have failed.
All patients must have a custodian or guardian registered as a caregiver to purchase cannabis on their behalf. However, the cannabis you’re allowed to have can only be lab-certified hemp extracts with more than 5% CBD and less than 1% THC. Cannabis flower isn’t allowed either, just hemp extracts. Medical marijuana in North Carolina can’t produce psychoactive effects and must be acquired somewhere other than North Carolina since it’s illegal to cultivate or dispense it here.
Qualifying patients must:
- Be diagnosed with epilepsy that doesn’t respond to three or more treatment options
- Be under the care of a state-licensed neurologist
- Have a registered caregiver
- Only possess cannabis extracts that contain less than 1% THC and don’t get you high
Caregivers must :
- Be 18 years or older
- Be a North Carolina resident
- Be a custodian of people with intractable epilepsy
- Submit a caregiver registration application to be protected from the anti-cannabis laws
- Be board-certified in neurology
- Be licensed to practice in North Carolina
- Be affiliated with neurology departments at least one state-licensed hospital
- Recommend three or more treatment options before recommending cannabis
- Provide a written statement to support the recommendation of hemp extracts for epilepsy
North Carolina Cannabis Events
The 2nd Annual Cannabis Convention in North Carolina will happen on August 14 to 15, 2020 at the Gibson Mill-Concord, McGill Avenue. This event will highlight marijuana education, networking, and the growing cannabis sector as a whole.
The event gathers cannabis enthusiasts in innovating marijuana products and services. It also features famous names in the cannabis sector as speakers and connects more people to industry experts and businesses.
This year’s event will also highlight local growers and farmers, offering educational tours and trials. Attendees can grab samples and check testing facilities in the state.
Where to Get Cannabis In North Carolina
Even though you can’t get your hands on legal cannabis in North Carolina. You can come to DC for a vacation and experience the cannabis culture here. You don’t need a medical card and you can get to experience some of the best strains in the world. If you want to make sure you get the right products then you should get a cannabis consultation before you come.